Making Positive Change and My Career as a Student

There is something that I have struggled quite a lot with recently: it is making positive change. I grew up in a privileged household. Not only was I provided with the necessities, but I grew up in a home that was loving and supportive in every way. My parents were and still are wonderful; there are not enough words in the English language to describe how much I cherish their love and guidance. my brother and sisters are equally amazing and I have known many people while growing up that have changed my life. Because of this, I feel a pull towards bringing positivity to other people.

As some of you may know, I am not the warmest person. I struggle very much with affirmation and tend to show my affection through gift-giving and lots of friendly teasing. More often than not, it would be hard for an outsider to see my actions as loving. I am introverted and distant; I do not excel at light conversation. I am awful at cheering people up.

But there are some things I can do. I can write. I write eloquently and effectively. I am a voracious reader and a passionate speaker. Engage me in an intellectual conversation and I am vibrant and witty. But how to translate this into change? How can I take the talents I possess and spin them into positivity for others? This is a question that I have not truly been able to answer.

Yes, of course, there are plenty of careers I could pursue. There is an endless number of jobs that aim towards helping people. But I’m a university student – those jobs are not quite available to me yet. There are volunteer opportunities and mission trips and all sorts of little things to do. However, they never seem to meet my needs. My hunger is never soothed.

I have thought about this problem for quite a while, and here is the solution I have drawn: I must study. Simple? Yes. But, effective. I must learn as much as I can while I still have the time to do it. Eventually, I will be constantly busy – or so I am told. Between my job, my friends, and potentially, my partner, there will be very little time to improve myself. So I shall do it now.

Hopefully, this will be effective. There is so much information to take in – more and more every day. This is the job I have assigned myself. ‘Student’ is no longer merely a title. It is my career. It is my passion. Not only to learn, but to be educated, is my goal. Maybe, in this journey, I can learn how to make positive change.

Leave a Reply

